E-Greetings ... Yes, they are pare of stormworm/peacom/peed.
Many of you may have already received email like this:
We've certainly noticed them hitting our email drops. The link points to ecard.exe, or another binary file. To date we've captured over 6,500 unique binaries related to this spam. (Full list available here.)Hi. School mate has sent you a postcard.
See your card as often as you wish during the next 15 days.
SEEING YOUR CARD
If your email software creates links to Web pages, click on your
card's direct www address below while you are connected to the Internet:
http ://127.0.0.1/? 5b23933165b19d3383b4c009ee64d82c3a9ebee
Or copy and paste it into your browser's "Location" box (where Internet
addresses go).
We hope you enjoy your awesome card.
Wishing you the best,
Mail Delivery System,
hallmark.com
Once downloaded this bot will then make connections to other peers on the storm network. There are over 250 hard coded peers in the list, however many appear to be red herrings, so I will not post the list here until I can confirm each and every one.
Selected drones are turned into proxy spreaders. Which means they proxy a connection to the 'main' server (located at: 205.209.X.X).
I'm working with Shadowserver to get the binaries mass submitted to their anti-virus check service. A spot check of 15 random binaries yielded pretty much the same results:
AhnLab-V2, Authentium, Avast, AVG, ClamAV, eTrust-Vet, Ewido, FileAdvisor, F-Prot, F-Secure, McAfee, Norman, Panda, Symantec, TheHacker, VBA32, and VirusBuster were UNABLE to identify the binary at all.
Several other engines identified it as 'suspicious'. The most consistant results came from: (in order) Bitdefender, Nod32, Sophos, Kaspersky and Microsoft.
Please be extra careful clicking on links in email, even from trusted parties!


